Scroll Top

IMEKO 2021 Conference and World Congress (Virtual)


The IMEKO XXIII World congress (IMEKO2021) will be held as the international conference in August 30 – September 3, 2021, co-organized by Science Council of Japan (SCJ) and The Society of Instrument and Control Engineers (SICE). IMEKO2021 will be held as the first online virtual conference for IMEKO to ensure the safety of participants, chairpersons, authors, conference delegates, sponsors and exhibitors.

Online Virtual Conference All authors of accepted paper are required to submit a presentation video before the conference. From August 30th to September 3rd, conference participants will watch on-demand videos, read the papers and discuss with presenters via chat system on the website. Due to the time difference, the discussion is not real-time. All media will be opened on the website until the end of September 2021.

Paper Submission and Registration All procedures will be operated on the IMEKO2021 Web site:

Important Dates Submission of 4-Page Paper – 31 March 2021 Notification of Acceptance – 31 May 2021 Submission of Final 4-Page Paper Ready – 15 July 2021 Early Bird Registration Close – 15 July 2021 Submission of Presentation Video – 10 August 2021 Publication of Papers – Proceedings All accepted and presented papers will be published as the proceedings of the IMEKO2021 World Congress on Elsevier open access Journal: Measurement: Sensors just after the Congress.

View the pdf here: 


 Delegate  Fee JPY (Japanese Yen)  Fee JPY (Japanese Yen) Fee JPY (Japanese Yen)
   Early Bird (By 15 July 2021) Late Bird (By 20 Aug. 2021)  In Congress (By 3 Spt. 2021)
 Regular  30 000-  42 000-  54,000-
 Student  18,000-  30,000-  42,000-
Delegate Fee JPY (Japanese Yen) Early Bird (By 15 July 2021) Late Bird (By 20 Aug. 2021) In Congress (By 3 Spt. 2021) Regular 30 000- 42 000- 54 000- Student 18 000- 30 000- 42 000-

General enquiries:



Scopes of Technical Committees

  • TC1 Education and Training in Measurement and Instrumentation
  • TC2 Photonics
  • TC3 Measurement of Force, Mass and Torque
  • TC4 Measurement of Electrical Quantities
  • TC5 Hardness Measurement
  • TC6 Digitalization
  • TC7 Measurement Science
  • TC8 Traceability in Metrology
  • TC9 Flow Measurement
  • TC10 Testing, Diagnostics and Inspection
  • TC11 Measurement in Testing, Inspection and Certification
  • TC12 Temperature and Thermal Measurements
  • TC13 Measurements in Biology and Medicine
  • TC14 Measurement of Geometrical Quantities
  • TC15 Experimental Mechanics
  • TC16 Pressure and Vacuum Measurements
  • TC17 Measurement in Robotics
  • TC18 Measurement of Human Functions
  • TC19 Environmental Measurements
  • TC20 Measurements of Energy and Related Quantities
  • TC21 Mathematical Tools for Measurements
  • TC22 Vibration Measurement
  • TC23 Metrology in Food and Nutrition
  • TC24 Chemical Measurements

Special Topics:

  • SP1 Networked Measurement system – Sensor network, Internet of Things (IoT)
  • SP2 Measurement in autonomous system – UAV, Space satellite, Sensor fusion
  • SP3 Intelligent Measurement – Neural network, Artificial Intelligence (AI), Big data mining, Audio/image processing


Board of Organizing Committee

  • Chairperson Kenichiro Yamanishi (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation)
  • Vice chairperson Satoshi Honda (Keio University), Takashi Usuda (NMIJ AIST), Akira Ono (SICE)

Planning & Executive Committee

  • Chairpersons Shigeru Takayama (Ritsumeikan Univ.), Tokihiko Kobata (NMIJ AIST)
  • Takashi Usuda (NMIJ AIST), Yukihiro Takaya (Osaka Univ.), Takaaki Nara (Univ. of Tokyo),
  • Koji Ogushi (NMIJ AIST), Yasuharu Koike (Tokyo Inst. of Tech.), Toshiyuki Tanaka (Keio Univ.),
  • Tohru Nakano (NMIJ AIST), Yuji Yamakawa (Univ. of Tokyo), Katsuhiro Shirono (NMIJ AIST),
  • Takanori Yamazaki (Tokyo Denki Univ.), Akihiro Ohta (NMIJ AIST), Takehiro Nakamura (JEMIC),
  • Takashi Yamamoto (Yamamoto Scientific Tool Laboratory Co., Ltd.), Koichiro Hattori (NMIJ AIST)

International Program Committee

  • Chairperson Takashi Usuda (Japan)
  • Vice chairperson Yasuhiro Takaya (Japan)
  • Honorary Chair Dr. Dae-Im Kang (Republic of Korea) IMEKO President 2009 – 2012
  • Members from MO in Asia Pacific
  • Members from TC Chairpersons of Technical Committees